Birds in the Classroom
The Bird Groups
Back to Home

Swans, Geese, and Ducks

About the swans, geese, and ducks

This large order of birds is classified in one family, Anatidae which consists of 147 species worldwide, 50 of which can be found in the United States. The members of this order eat a wide variety of food and nest in many different habitats.

Swans, Geese, and Ducks

Order: Anseriformes

Family: Anatidae
Genus: Cygnus
Trumpeter Swan
Tundra Swan

Genus: Branta
Canada Goose
Black Brandt

Genus: Anser
White-fronted Goose

Genus: Chen
Ross's Goose
Snow Goose

Snow Goose#2

Snow Goose #3

Emperor Goose

Genus: Anas
Green-winged Teal
Blue-winged Teal
Blue-winged Teal

Black Duck
Eurasian Wigeon
American Wigeon
Mottled Duck


Genus: Aythya
Ring-necked Duck
Tufted Duck

Lesser Scaup
Greater Scaup
Scaup Comparison

Genus: Bucephala
Common Goldeneye
Barrow's Goldeneye

Genus: Mergus
Red-breasted Merganser
Common Merganser

Genus: Lophodytes
Hooded Merganser

Genus: Melanitta
Surf Scoter
Black Scoter

White-winged Scoter
White-winged Scoter and Sea Otter Encounter

Genus: Somateria
Common Eider
Genus: Polysticta
Steller's Eider

Genus: Clangula
Long-tailed Duck

Genus: Histrionicus
Harlequin Duck l

Genus: Dendrocygna
Black-bellied Whistling Duck
Fulvous Whistling Duck

Genus: Aix
Wood Duck l
Genus: Oxyura
Ruddy Duck